View Full Version : Email rejected because BlueHost is blocked
KenJackson
10-19-2007, 06:44 PM
I'm not sure what this message means, but it looks like the destination ISP rejected my email because it came from BlueHost. I sent an email message using Bluehost as my SMTP server and got this in return.
Has anyone had a similar experience lately?
From: MAILER-DAEMON@outbound-mail-66.bluehost.com
To: *****
Subject: failure notice
Date: 20 Oct 2007 00:19:16 -0000
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at outbound-mail-66.bluehost.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
<*****@myway.com>:
207.159.120.168 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [69.89.21.24]
blocked using blackholes.myway.com; Sender address rejected:
Access denied Error: WS-19
Giving up on 207.159.120.168.
--- Enclosed are the original headers of the message.
Received: (qmail 2795 invoked by uid 0); 20 Oct 2007 00:19:01 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO box117.bluehost.com) (69.89.22.117)
by mailproxy4.bluehost.com with SMTP; 20 Oct 2007 00:19:01 -0000
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
...
Early Out
10-19-2007, 07:35 PM
That's a very confused error message, isn't it? On the one hand, it says, "[IP] does not like recipient," which implies that the address is no good. On the other hand, it says, "Sender address rejected," which implies that the message is being blocked because of where it's coming from.
I'd double-check the address to which the message was sent. Try this site (http://www.broadband-help.com/tools/email-check/default.aspx) to test it.
KenJackson
10-19-2007, 07:49 PM
Very interesting. The site you referenced reported Not valid email.
But it's my brother's email address and he says it's valid and that he recently received email.
I'm wondering if they haven't blacklisted both BlueHost and broadband-help.com.
Early Out
10-19-2007, 08:06 PM
If that site reports the email as being invalid, the problem is pretty clearly on myway.com, I think.
I wonder if your brother has recently received email from anyone outside of myway.com.
BobBerg
10-19-2007, 09:09 PM
:mad: The e-mail was rejected by the myway.com e-mail server since at the time it received the message, it thinks that the bluehost e-mail server was a source of spam.
This is a typical result that I have encountered when sending e-mail to users at myway.com. I have had numerous message attempts rejected by myway.com, even when I have attempted to send via another e-mail account using with my local ISP's e-mail account
NOTE: I have had some success sending mail to myway.com if I change my outgoing e-mail SMTP setting from Port 25 to Port 26. It may be just luck???
.
felgall
10-20-2007, 12:18 AM
Sounds like they have their system defined so that anything from outside their system is considered to be spam.
KenJackson
10-20-2007, 06:13 AM
My brother (the intended recipient) said he recently received email from two specific relatives (he's not big on email), one of which uses juno.com and the other uses peoplepc.com. I have also emailed his address from BlueHost many times in the past.
BobBerg, I believe you are right. MyWay thinks BlueHost is a source of SPAM. I know BH works hard to keep spammers from using them, but one or more must have snuck through.
Early Out
10-20-2007, 07:46 AM
BobBerg, I believe you are right. MyWay thinks BlueHost is a source of SPAM. I know BH works hard to keep spammers from using them, but one or more must have snuck through.That's not what happens. What happens is that some BH users have all their BH email forwarded to another account, like a Myway account. So, all the spam gets forwarded as well, and the Myway mail server sees a mountain of spam coming from the BH mail server. BH gets blacklisted.
Myway (and they're not the only ones who do this - Comcast does, too) doesn't look to the original source of the spam. As a practical matter, it's not worth bothering, since the headers on spam are often forged, anyway. All they know is that the mail server at IP address x.x.x.x (a BH mail server), is a spam source.
That's why I plead with anyone who will listen - don't have your BH email forwarded to another account. Just use an email client program to fetch it directly from BH.
mdusanic
11-21-2007, 10:24 AM
I've been emailing people on Myway on and off for two years and just yesterday, I got the same message (and I was using Port 26).
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.