PDA

View Full Version : Received Email - Unlock Domain Request


Cynthia Blue
01-11-2007, 01:49 PM
I received an email that looks like it's from Bluehost... said that a request has been made to unlock my domain.

I made no such request.

So..I put in a ticket. I rather think it's spam. Anyone else get anything like this?
Here is a blurb... complete with links. The links look like bluehost fakes.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
DOMAIN STATUS - CHANGE NOTIFICATION
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Dear CYNTHIA,

We have received a request that the STATUS be changed to Unlocked on the following domain name(s):

UTAHDOGS.COM

You do *not* need to respond to this email. If, however, you think this change may have been made in error or fraudulently, please contact us within 15 days.

If you have any questions or need technical assistance, support is available 24x7 at:

+ Online Support: http://www.securepaynet.net/gdshop/support.asp?prog_id=bluehostcom&isc=wwbb364
+ Email: mailto:support@bluehost.com
+ Online FAQ: http://help.securepaynet.net/?prog_id=bluehostcom&isc=wwbb364

Sincerely,
BlueHost.Com

==============================================
HELPFUL LINKS

Register domain names:
https://www.securepaynet.net/gdshop/registrar/search.asp?prog_id=bluehostcom&isc=wwbb364

Transfer domain names:
https://www.securepaynet.net/gdshop/transfers/landing.asp?prog_id=bluehostcom&isc=wwbb364

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Silverado05
01-11-2007, 01:53 PM
Yes I got the same thing as well yesterday. Is this a PHISHING scam or what?

Danny
01-11-2007, 01:54 PM
It's not spam, Bluehost are in the process of changing the registrar they use to manage our domain names. They have setup their own registrar which will allow them to offer much better domain registration services and more control over the domain for the users.

Thats why you got the email.

Silverado05
01-11-2007, 02:04 PM
Ok thanks, but I have 2 sites here and also it was sent to a email address that is not on file with bluehost as my primary email that I signed up with. That's why I am a bit skeptical since I got it on that email addy and just for one site and not the other. See what I am saying?

bobdog
01-11-2007, 02:23 PM
You're fine dude.

I have many sites hosted here, I've been getting these emails for a few months now. Bluehost is changing the registrar.

No worries.

Silverado05
01-11-2007, 02:27 PM
Also my domain is registered with Go Daddy and not Bluehost. So should I still be getting these? The site in question is on my e-commerece site and if I loose it because of a phishing scam I am going to be very unhappy since it is my source of income.

Danny
01-11-2007, 03:08 PM
Silverado05

When I received the same email I also noted that it came in on a email I no long have in my BlueHost info. That is what scare me. So I email them and that’s when they told me they are moving registrar. I don't understand why they sent you an email since your domain name is with Go Daddy, unless the email is just mass email to all members.

Note: one thing I did notice was that when I did a whois on my account it has the old email address still there. I plan on using the privacy once they finish moving the domain name and lock them again.

Maggilove
01-11-2007, 03:16 PM
It's nothing to worry about... received the following in an e-mail from Bluehost earlier today... it takes a while to mail all the members, but you should get one soon...

###ANNOUNCEMENT###
Any customer that received an email regarding their domain being unlocked
PLEASE don't be alarmed. There is nothing wrong with your domain and no
downtime or changes of any kind will be made to your domain. We are simply
making backends changes with regards to our registrar and our partner site
sent an automated email because of it. Again, there is nothing to do or act
upon with regards to this email. Please just ignore it. Thanks!
###ANNOUNCEMENT###

Silverado05
01-11-2007, 04:12 PM
Well I guess that is refreshing then. I had a feeling last night I wasn't the only one that got one because I tried to call support and I was number 17 waiting to speak to a rep. I have never had to wait more then like 2-3 people before.

Enrique
01-11-2007, 04:16 PM
I got the same thing - and the same rather unhelpful reply from support..., so I thought there was something wrong and protectively logged in and changed the STATUS back to LOCKED. Then, hours later, also got that **ANNOUNCEMENT** message from Matt saying we don't need to worry... hope this won't prevent Bluehost to do whatever changes they need to do in their registrar? Or should I log in again and change the status back to UNLOCKED?

thanks!

borderline
01-11-2007, 11:43 PM
how come we can't change the A and CNAME records ourselves for our domains here?
when my domain was in Yahoo, I had a domain control panel and I could do that