Ftp file i can't delete but is 50meg!
Ok for the second time now i have had my ftp connection interrupted and on reconnection i haven't been offered the resume or overwrite buttons which has meant that it starts all over again, leaving the unfinished file in the folder and i can't delete it, plus i have to upload it all again!!
The file it leaves is something like this
The previous time last month had left me a 110 meg unfinished file which is taking up way too much space now. How can i delete these files and why does it do it. i never experienced this problem before!!???
any help gladly appreciated
Are you saying that it won't let you delete the file, or are you just uncertain how to go about it?
What happens if you access the file manager through cPanel and try to delete it that way?
That is a file that you must have been uploading with an FTP program, it must have failed or something, I have had that same thing happen.
Originally Posted by DaveCee
If it won't delete in your FTP program, simply log on to your cPanel, and lauch the file manager, and delete it from there.
I've seen that too once. I know i deleted it, but its been a while ago, i forgot what i did. How about changing its attributes/permission first. It's likely a read-only file.
ive had this happen to me many times. i use smart FTP and i always assumed it was a problem with that software, since i switched to that FTP program at the same time i switched to bluehost.
the file will disappear on its own, or you can contact support to remove it. neither file manager, your FTP or permissions will allow you to delete it, and i agree it is an annoyance.
i think they all disappear on their own eventually.
Why would the file disappear by itself..
Use cPanel's file manager, as long as the file doesn't have a percent sign in it or something then it's all good.
Originally Posted by Basil
Hi all, sorry for the late response to this. i will try the above and see what happens. i thought i had tried the control panel b4 but i'll give it another go.
Sometimes the file is actually deleted, you just have to hit REFRESH to show the updated contents of the directory. This has happened to me often when FTPing directly through the Windows Explorer interface.