Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SQL Database Creation

Default SQL Database Creation

I'm relatively new to BH having recently moved our domain from elsewhere.
    I would like to set up a database on our site, but I'm not familiar with the process of working with an SQL database. Most of my experience has been with MS Access (sorry about that).

I've checked the help files and managed to create a database, but I have no idea as to how to get data into the database nor how to link it into our web, which is created and published using Frontpage (don't knock it - it works).

I could use some basic guidance with the above. Any help would be appreciated.

Techgy

There are articles in the knowledgebase that illustrate how to import data into a database. Of course, to do that you either have to create the SQL queries that add the records or export from an existing SQL database.

Also, there are many good books out there on SQL in general and MySQL and other SQL databases in particular.

Smile SQL Creation

Thanks for the response. However, I've already been through the information in the Knowledgebase. As for purchasing a book, that's a last resort, but a possibility.

What I'd really like to find is an on-line example of setting up an SQL database and connecting it into a FrontPage web site. Anything simple would be fine, I'm just looking for something that would "turn the lights on".

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by techgy
    What I'd really like to find is an on-line example of setting up an SQL database and connecting it into a FrontPage web site.
    To create a data driven web page you need to use a server-side scripting langauge. HTML by itself cannot do the job. PHP is a commonly used server-side scripting language as are Perl and Python but there are others as well.