Thread: Security Issues with Bluehost? I ran some tests and it appears to be true.

rockstrongo Guest

Default Security Issues with Bluehost? I ran some tests and it appears to be true.

I have been using Bluehost for 5 years and have multiple accounts. About 2 years ago discovered that more and more of my websites were getting "hacked". Even websites that were custom built with no possible security holes are being hacked and malicious content added. Now I have an account with 15 add-on accounts and every single domain is giving me an error message saying the site is being linked to a malicious or phishing website. I have been on and off with support for the better part of 2 years and I have also changed FTP clients at least 4 times. I don't save my FTP login information anywhere and I have taken every step to keep my information protected. This is becoming way beyond frustrating.

About 6 months ago I decided to run a split test and see if it was indeed my software and not the hosting company. Bluehost always said it was my scripts causing the issue and I wanted to see if that was true. I purchased a cheap hosting account through another hosting company and uploaded my site and scripts there. The same website that Bluehost told me was the problem has been up and running actively for 6 months without a single issue. The same site that was "hacked" within 2 weeks on my Bluehost account. That makes me wonder...is it really the scripts I have running or the hosting company?