Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: spam?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    15

    Question spam?

    i got a mail from stivvysliller@techie.com (subject:uucp@pavelbd.net)
    Spam detection software, running on the system "box75.bluehost.com", has
    identified this incoming email as possible spam. The original message
    has been attached to this so you can view it (if it isn't spam) or label
    similar future email. If you have any questions, see
    the administrator of that system for details.

    Content preview: Charity/Non-Profit Organization Contact: The NEW YEAR is
    Here... NOW IS THE TIME to Show What You Have to Offer the World
    Celebrating Our 10th Year of Charity Emailings! Click to Advertise Your
    Site to 3,000,000 Internet Users [...]

    Content analysis details: (8.4 points, 5.0 required)

    pts rule name description
    ---- ---------------------- --------------------------------------------------
    0.1 HTML_TAG_EXIST_TBODY BODY: HTML has "tbody" tag
    0.0 HTML_MESSAGE BODY: HTML included in message
    0.3 HTML_FONT_BIG BODY: HTML tag for a big font size
    0.0 MIME_HTML_ONLY BODY: Message only has text/html MIME parts
    1.8 RCVD_IN_WHOIS_BOGONS RBL: CompleteWhois: sender on bogons IP block
    [94.248.2.241 listed in combined-HIB.dnsiplists.completewhois.com]
    1.8 RCVD_IN_DSBL RBL: Received via a relay in list.dsbl.org
    [<http://dsbl.org/listing?218.158.52.69>]
    1.3 RCVD_IN_BL_SPAMCOP_NET RBL: Received via a relay in bl.spamcop.net
    [Blocked - see <http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?218.158.52.69>]
    3.1 RCVD_IN_XBL RBL: Received via a relay in Spamhaus XBL
    [218.158.52.69 listed in sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org]

    The original message was not completely plain text, and may be unsafe to
    open with some email clients; in particular, it may contain a virus,
    or confirm that your address can receive spam. If you wish to view
    it, it may be safer to save it to a file and open it with an editor.

    Please tell me what does that mean?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cumming, GA
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Last week I had a spam email off of what "appeared" to be a bluehost server. None of us have the time trying to figure out where this stuff comes from.

    Just forward the email on to abuse@bluehost.com They said they were checking the "stop working 9 to 5" email I forwarded to them.
    Lisa
    Aruba Bound!
    Pictures of Aruba
    Hoosier Kitties- Resource links for you about your cat

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Did you turn on Spam Assassin? I just turned it on last week and created a filter to send all the spam it detects to a spam e-mail account. All the mail that goes there looks like what you see. It assigns points for spam characteristics an email has and lists each of the characteristics. If it scores high enough it is classified as spam.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Arubalisa, Thank you lets me send it to abuse@bluehost.com
    wholcomb, no i didnt turn on Spam Assassin yet. Let me try

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •