Thread: Screen resolution detection and Redirect

Default Screen resolution detection and Redirect

Hi,
    Hopefully someone can see my error right away. I'm new at javascript, but do understand programming. I installed this script immediately after the <head> tag on my index page.

<script language="Javascript"><!--

if (screen.width <= 1023) {
    document.location = "index8.html";
    }

if (screen.width > 1024) {
    document.location = "index.html";
    }

//--></script>

At 800 x 600, it loaded the smaller version as directed. At 1024 x 768 it loaded the larger version as directed. At 1152 and larger, it just repeatedly clicks and goes nowhere in IE7.0. Firefox also seems to be stuck in a loop.

I've tried adding an if else statement and a couple of other changes, but no luck. Can anyone help?
    Thanks,
    Curt

previously i test some simple javascript at IE and firefox.
    seem like they not work the same way. firefox just dont work.

probably you need 2 set of javascript, one for ie, another for firefox.
    Charles Gan
    www.bluehostreview.org : Bluehost reviews hosted at bluehost:cool:

To me it looks like your second if statement is creating an infinite loop-- you are already in the file index.html when this code runs, right?

So take it out:

Code:

}

//--></script>

Quote Originally Posted by websiteguy View Post
    Hi,
    Hopefully someone can see my error right away. I'm new at javascript, but do understand programming. I installed this script immediately after the <head> tag on my index page.

}

if (screen.width > 1024) {
    document.location = "index.html";
    }

//--></script>

At 800 x 600, it loaded the smaller version as directed. At 1024 x 768 it loaded the larger version as directed. At 1152 and larger, it just repeatedly clicks and goes nowhere in IE7.0. Firefox also seems to be stuck in a loop.

I've tried adding an if else statement and a couple of other changes, but no luck. Can anyone help?
    Thanks,
    Curt